wedding reviews

from our amazing couples

Kind words...

our wedding reviews

Weddings are such personal and important milestone events, and as a small family business, we can’t help but get really involved in your wedding. One of the perks of our job is that we get to know you well, make some really lovely acquaintances, and ultimately some great friends along the way.

Bride-and-Groom-standing-by-Rydal-Caves-overlooking-Rydal-Water-at-Cote-How-Lake-District-Weddings
Photo by Stanbury Photo
Cote How Review – Jessica & Daniel Sixsmith The first time we pulled into the driveway at Cote How, the inviting smell of a burning log fire, swiftly followed by warm and welcome introductions by Caroline and Steve, we knew this was the place we wanted to get married. Our wedding was only ever planned to be an intimate day with our closest family and friends and we knew this would be the perfect location to host the weekend. The planning process was seamless with the easy to use portal covering off everything that needed thinking about! We took the option for Caroline to organise our cake and flowers and they were exactly as we would have wanted if we’d done it ourselves. Despite a few curveballs thrown from Boris requiring last minute changes to our reception (12.30pm the day before!), the day ran seamlessly and all of our guests were amazed with the stunning setting, breath taking views and perfectly manicured gardens that Cote How has to offer. This was all topped off by the fantastic teams led by Caroline, Steve and Karen – we can’t thank you enough for making our day one we will never forget!
AUGUST 2020
In February 2020 we decided to visit Cote How, Rydal in the Lake District, (mainly as this part of England is our favourite place), as a possible wedding venue so we set off from Stockton on Tees in high spirits, even higher winds and driving rain, it was a pretty scary drive on the A66 and when we did get to the Lakes we then had to contend with the flooding but we made it - and oh boy was it worth it! We were welcomed by Caroline and Steve Langham to their very beautiful and private home. Caroline was fantastic, she took us through all of the options available to us, but never pressured us into making a decision there and then, she gave us plenty to think and talk about on our journey home. She showed us around the venue and the outside space we could use, depending on the weather of course, she left the barn until last - WOW!, WOW!, WOW! we were smitten, it was an amazing space both inside and out and on the journey home we knew that Cote How was where we wanted our special day to be. It was booked for 19/08/2020 and we were due to re-visit in May but by then Covid had reared it's ugly head and the next time we would actually see Steve and Caroline would be on our wedding day. I lost count of the emails sent between Caroline and myself, she was absolutely amazing dealing with the ever changing rules and regulations that Covid brought but nothing and I do mean nothing was ever too much trouble for her. On the big day itself all our family met on the terrace (as the sun was shining!) and were made to feel so welcome by Steve, Caroline and Sophie. They attended to ours and our guests every need. Caroline walked us through everything and the day went without a single hitch. It was such a special day that was shared with our loved ones and is definitely one of best memories - ever. If you are looking to hold an intimate wedding with very passionate and professional people at the helm, then you must check out Cote How. It is a truly stunning location, we can not recommend it enough. Thank you Caroline, Steve and Sophie. AUGUST 2020
Mature Wedding Couple Signing Register Lakes Wedding
Michelle & Craig
Happy Couple
Mature Wedding Couple Signing Register Lakes Wedding
Outdoor-wedding-barn-Lake-District-wedding
Photo by Caroline
Very Small Barn Wedding Ceremony
Photo by Caroline
We were married at Cote How in July 2020 and despite changes we were forced to make due to current Covid restrictions, love conquered all and we had the most amazing day! When we thought about getting married, we were agreed on a quiet, quaint venue, but one that would need to be elegant and charming all the same; from the moment we pulled up to the driveway on our first visit to meet Caroline nearly two years ago, we realised Cote How ticked every single box and then some! Caroline made every step of the planning easy and stress-free; it's hard to believe it's all over! All our guests commented on how delightfully elegant Cote How is; they were blown away by the whole setting.. Truly magical! Cote How will always hold a special place in our hearts; as will Caroline and Steve - we cannot thank you both enough. Even when times were uncertain, your hope and positivity never faltered! From the bottom of our hearts, thank you! Lots of love always, Mr & Mrs Bopari ❤️
JULY 2020
Wedding testimonial
Clare and Indie
Happy Couple
Two-Brides-strolling-through-Rydal-Woods-with-the-dog
Photo by Tom McNally
Described as a “Wedding Angel”; we believe "Wedding Goddess" more fitting.
We happened to stumble across Cote How during a walk with friends from Ambleside to Grasmere (our spiritual homes). Peeking over the gate to get a better view, Abbie and I were struck by the beauty of Cote How’s lush green lawns, perfectly maintained flower beds and crisp white facade. Its secluded location could’ve easily been walked past which contributed to the serendipity of happening upon this rural paradise.  From the moment we contacted Caroline to arrange a viewing we felt at ease. Her genial and welcoming nature was one of the fundamental factors in choosing Cote How as the venue for our wedding. Throughout our planning and correspondence Caroline’s ‘nothing is too much trouble’ attitude aided in the seamless organisation of our special day. This ultimate professionalism continued right through to and during the day of our wedding. Having been to weddings since and being able to compare our own experience, what’s most noticeable, and we believe important, were the several opportunities to speak with our guests post-ceremony. For example, immediately after saying “I do” Caroline took us to stand in the shade of a tree outside the entrance of Cote How where our guests were able to offer their congratulations before we were whisked away for photographs. We were also able to welcome our guests into the barn before the wedding breakfast. Opportunities like these, where we were able to speak to all our guests, were much valued, cherished and some of the most important of the day.  Our day ran so smoothly and effortlessly - a testament to the experience and enthusiasm of all at Cote How. We’d previously read Caroline being described as a “wedding angel”; we believe wedding goddess is much more fitting. Steve was also paramount in the success of our day, working humbly behind the scenes to ensure the little details were taken care of. It’s impossible to put into words the magic of Cote How’s wedding experience, and equally our thanks to both Caroline and Steve for making it perfect. 
AUG 2019
Simone and Abbie
Simone and Abbie
Happy Couple
Bride and Groom with umbrella in rain at Rydal Water in the Lakes
Photo by Simon Hughes
A big thank you to you both
Yourself and Steve couldn't of done enough for us, you went above and beyond and nothing was too much trouble. Your venue was perfect and met everyone's needs including the fussy eaters ha ha. You personalised the venue to our theme and the flowers and cake included were perfect, not only beautiful but delicious. The rain didn't spoil the day, your venue is perfect and well equipped for both rain and shine and we feel that the rain made it and added to the day and the pictures.  Yourself, Steve and staff were fabulous and friendly.  We can't thank you enough, your organisation, skills and attention to detail made us feel safe, confident relaxed in your hands.  And I would recommend your venue to anyone come rain or shine.  Thank you  
JUNE 2019
Simon and Louise - Happy Couple
Simon and Louise
Happy Couple
Bride and Groom with umbrella in rain at Rydal Water in the Lakes
Photo by Simon Hughes
A Non-Corporate venue that made us feel at home
Thank you Caroline and Steve for making our special day at Cote How on 28 September 2019 so perfect! We wanted a personal, non-corporate venue where we were able to feel at home, relax and enjoy our day with friends and family. The Cote How Team and venue provided this atmosphere and so much more, in terms of professionalism, glorious location, beautiful décor and amazing food! The sun even shone on our day! Thanks to your efficiency, organisation and knowledge our weekend was stress-free and we could relax and enjoy it. With love and grateful thanks. Mr and Mrs Holme.
SEPT 2019
Anne and David - Happy Couple
Anne and David
Happy Couple
Bride-and-Groom-in-adventure-elopement-wedding-in-the-Lake-District
Photo by Sharon Cudworth
5 stars is not enough!
It’s hard to describe just how beautiful Cote How is. When I found Cote How whilst looking for a scenic wedding venue for this summer, I couldn’t believe a place like this existed and fell in love. I made an appointment to go meet Caroline and see the venue in person and was absolutely blown away by the entire surroundings. From the quaint entrance, the lovingly restored barn to the magnificent mountains in the backdrop. Without even including the access to the river and Rydal water where you will be able to capture the most amazing memories of your special day - it is just perfect. Caroline and Steve are incredible too, during the entire planning process - which didn’t take long because everything is so well organised - I was able to contact Caroline and receive an email back promptly. On the day, the wedding went off without a hitch. As I’ve already said, everything is so well organised, that as the bride to be I felt so relaxed knowing that everything was taken care of. Caroline ensured everything was perfect and I cannot thank her enough for her amazing attention to detail. Both myself and my new husband are so happy we found Cote How and we wouldn’t change one single part of our special day - it is something we will cherish forever in the most part because of the beauty of Cote How. Which has been perfectly captured in our wedding pictures. 5 stars is not enough! JULY 2019
Amy and Stephen - Happy Couple
Amy and Stephen
Happy Couple
Bride and Groom Signing the Register in the Wedding Barn at Cote How
Photo by Caroline
Surprise Wedding!
It is difficult to put into words how incredible Cote How is. The beauty of the place is incomprehensible until you're stood there. The house has the most stunning charm and the gardens and barn will take your breath away... but without doubt the most beautiful part of this venue has to be Caroline and Steve. From the moment I spoke to Caroline about the idea of a surprise wedding (with just 10 weeks notice) they were both on board and went above and beyond to ensure we had the day of our dreams. Nothing was a hassle! The help and guidance we received was incredible and made the entire process stress free (something I'm a big fan of). The perfectly manicured gardens and freshly cut flowers were just examples of the attention to detail, love,care and enthusiasm this wonderful couple put into their weddings. This definitely showed on our wedding day when they and their lovely daughter were perfect hosts to our nearest and dearest, making everyone feel warmly welcome and taken care of. My new Husband Joe and I will forever be grateful to Caroline and Steve, and can not recommend them and their venue enough. JULY 2019
Rachel and Joe - Happy Couple
Rachel and Joe
Happy Couple
Social Media

Get Connected

Follow us to keep up to date with our latest news, events and wedding tips

Scroll to Top