fbpx

 

Heart Left75px

Romantic Lakeland Weddings - Awe inspiring Landscapes

Reviews

We love getting feedback!

Weddings are such personal and important milestone events and as a small family business we can't help but get really involved in your wedding. One of the perks of our job is that we get to know you well, make some really lovely acquaintances and ultimately some great friends along the way.
We love to keep in touch with all of our couples via social media, so please follow us on Facebook to hear our latest news and see our recent weddings. We would love to hear from you too... 

Here is our Facebook Page - Please like and share it to keep up to date. As a small business your reviews are extremely important to us. They also help engaged couples to find the venue that suits them best and what better way to do this than to read about the experience of our happy couples. You can also add your own review to our page, or email us and we will add for you.

 

Here are a few of recent reviews from our lovely wedding couples...

Cote How Café Bar

 

PLEASE NOTE - CAFE CLOSED FOR WINTER (RE-OPEN SPRING 2015)

Walkers Cafe Bar – Now fully licensed

We are famous for our homemade food, ethically sourced and freshly prepared each day – without the use of microwaves! Our homemade cakes are legendary, particularly our scones, which are rumoured to be ‘the best in the world’!

WE HAVE MOVED INTO THE BARN! A great venue and a much bigger space to cater for your walkers’ needs. We have draft local ales and cool lager on draft… and you can even bring the dog!

SORRY – NO ONSITE PARKING
We have firm restrictions on our business laid down by the National Park Authority which states that we can NOT encourage cars up the lane to this venue as it may cause further congestion on the lane. We therefore can only welcome WALKERS AND CYCLISTS as we are prohibited from offering any onsite parking for the Tearoom/Cafe Bar.
There is however, a public car park just 50 metres below us, where there should be ample space.

Special Celebrations

We do offer the tearoom,  lounge and function room for exclusive use. So, if you have a special celebration and would like a small intimate venue for up to 40 guests in the house or a larger event in the barn – up to 100, please call Caroline to discuss your requirements. We offer off season and mid week special deals to suit every budget.

celebrrations

Heart Left75pxHeart Right75px

Bespoke weddings you thought you could only dream of...

Franco and Jenny - May 2019
Simply Perfect!
After being together for 30 years and making the decision to finally get married, from the moment we saw Cote How and met Caroline we just knew this was the place for us. Whilst we currently live in Hampshire, the Lake District has personal connections for both of us and Cote How full of Lakeland charm in a stunning location close to Rydal Water, was the perfect setting for us to hold a small and intimate wedding with the people we love. It was certainly worth the wait, with every detail taken care of by Caroline, Steve and and their friendly team. The food, flowers, cake and overall decor were clearly all made and presented with care and looked stunning too! The weather was kind to us so we were able to enjoy parts of the day outside on the terrace, breathing in the lovely fresh air and basking in the spring sunshine, with a glass of bubbles, what wonderful memories! Thanks to Caroline and the team, we were able to completely relax and enjoy every moment of our special day, knowing everything was taken care of. We had the most perfect day and would certainly recommend Cote How to anyone looking for a small and intimate wedding venue hosted by people who truly go the extra mile to make you feel special. Thank you so much Caroline and Steve, you're amazing!

Wedding Couple by Simon Hughes Photography

Franco and Jenny - Simon Hughes Photography

 

2019 Wedding Reviews

Robyn and Gareth - May 2019
Beautiful setting and atmosphere!
We had the most wonderful intimate wedding at Cote How. The setting is just beautiful with different choices of where to hold your ceremony. We had our 11 guest wedding in the Fairfield room which was beautiful. Everything ran so smoothly and it was such a relaxed atmosphere - would highly recommend Caroline and the team at Cote How for a wedding in the Lakes.

Tim and Jo - April 2019
Dream wedding in 10 days!
Cote How is not just an idyllic, historic home, in beautiful grounds set on the edge of Rydal Water in The Lake District National Park but Caroline and Steve have made it into a perfect wedding venue. Their enthusiasm, attention to detail, organisational skills and obvious love for their career gave us an unforgettable wedding day. We live in the Lake District and had walked and cycled past Cote How on numerous occasions, early this year we visited and decided to get married in September in the Barn. However, due to my recent diagnosis, the wedding had to be brought forward and with Caroline’s help everything was organised in just ten days and we were married on 13th April, 4 days before I started chemotherapy. We had just 22 guests, an intimate ceremony in the Fairfield room, canapés on the terrace and a beautiful meal, flowers, and photographer. It was perfect. We both felt totally relaxed throughout the day able to chat to our guests and enjoy our surroundings in the sunshine. This would not have been possible without Caroline and Stevens friendship and support. They even helped us decorate our tandem to perfection. Thank you for a great day.

Jan and Mike - March 2019
Simply perfect!
We knew from the moment we drove through the gate into the grounds of Cote How that this was a very special venue for our wedding. Caroline and Steve were so friendly, professional and helpful throughout the booking process and helped to make our big day simply perfect. Thank you so much, Caroline and Steve.

 

Robyn and Gareth's Simple Ceremony WeddingRobyn and Gareth's Simple Ceremony Wedding

 

 

Tim and Jos intimate wedding with family and friendsTim and Jo's intimate wedding with family and friends

 

 

Jan and Mike's March Elopement WeddingJan and Mike's March Elopement Wedding

 

 

 

 

 

 

2018 Wedding Reviews

Angharad and Rob - Dec 2018
Completely perfect day!
We’ve just returned from our winter wedding at Cote How and it was everything we could have hoped for and more. We were a party of 14, Caroline and Steve took care of everything from start to finish with little touches that made our day perfect! The food and venue were beautiful and we couldn’t recommend enough especially if you are looking for an intimate venue with a team that genuinely want you to have the best day possible! 


Pat and Ruth - Nov 2018
Getting hitched!
An idyllic setting in the Lake District is the perfect place for a special occasion. Caroline and Steve create a very special ambience in awesome surroundings. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them as they aimed to make our day perfect. And they certainly did that, exceeding all expectations. Five stars is not sufficient! Very highly recommended

MRM - Nov 2018
Simply the best
If you want personal service where nothing is too much trouble, a beautiful venue and being made to feel so special then Cote How with Caroline and Steve is for you

Kat and Jaedon - OCt 2018
Charming Lake District wedding retreat
We couldn't have chosen a better venue. Cote how is a warm, welcoming and intimate venue; Jaedon and I felt right at home with our guests on our special day. Caroline and Steve made the day easy, seamless and stress-free. They guided us on all things, big and small. Caroline has an attention to detail and delighted us with all the final touches to the decor - we didn't have to worry about a thing! 

Caroline and Claire - Sept 2018
Everything we could wish for
Our wedding in September this year was perfect in every way thanks to Cote How. The venue and surroundings are beautiful and Caroline and Steve are amazing at what they do. All their help and knowledge made it easier to plan our day and making our day special was the most important thing to them. We will forever have the greatest memories of our special day at Cote How.

Claire and Caroline - Sept 2018
The best day by the best venue
We married at Cote How Rydal on 26th September this year and had just the best day! We had been unlucky enough to have our previous wedding venue cancel on us and despite feeling initially really upset, when we found Cote How we realised that everything happens for a reason and it felt meant to be! Caroline and Steve the owners couldn’t have been more helpful in the planning and on the day. They helped our natural vintage theme come to life, with a delicious afternoon tea served on vintage china and even enabled us to plant a tree in their grounds so we can visit in years to come. We loved being able to walk to Rydal water for our photos and that we could have our beloved border collie Ollie with us as ring bearer and throughout our day. If you want a beautiful, personal & stress free wedding we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Cote How.

David and Janet - Aug 2018
A beautiful day in the Lake District
Cote How is a beautiful location for a wedding, the house and barn are lovely and the backdrop is simply stunning. We were looking for an intimate wedding venue for 40+ guests and Cote How was perfect. Caroline also made the process of organizing the day as easy as possible and tailored every aspect to our wishes. Arrange a visit to have a look around, you won't be disappointed!

Carole and Kevin - June 2018
Spectacular venue for a relaxed, intimate wedding
Perfect venue and setting. Attention to detail is amazing. Caroline & Steve work very hard to make your wedding individual. We wanted laid-back, relaxed and lots of laughter. Was just perfect. I'd do it all again tomorrow.
[/bubble]

Gill and Paul - June 2018
Magical place
Hidden gem tucked away at the side of Rydal water with a wonderful backdrop for photos, the house is lovely with a little path down to Rydal water. All our guests were blown away by the setting..

Helen and Will - June 2018
Cote WOW ! Absolutely amazing place to get married
Caroline and Steve at Cote How were absolutely amazing from the very first meeting. We knew we wanted to get married in the lakes as we love it there so much. We'd been to a few other venues in the vicinity, which were nice, but felt impersonal. On a walk round Grasmere and Rydal water one day we came upon Cote How by accident and I just fell in love on the spot. Caroline was in the garden so we asked for a chat. We should have made an appointment but had no phone reception so she invited us in. We walked through the gate and into a beautiful fairytale and straight away, for me, the decision was made. I wanted to get married here. Luckily for me so did my intended! Caroline was so helpful from the outset, guiding us through the options and showing us the interactive seating arrangement spreadsheet and all the ways we could communicate our wishes remotely from Leeds. During the planning stage we learned of my father's terminal illness. The turmoil this created was terrible. Would he be able to travel there? Would he even make it at all?. Caroline was kind and understanding when I forgot to do things due to the stress, sending gentle prompts, helping me think clearly, taking the pressure off. I can't thank her enough. Sadly though dad didn't make it. The day itself came, the accommodation for myself and my family was amazing. The bridal suite is to die for. The personal attention whilst I was getting ready, the wonderful way she and Steve and all her staff treated our guests was exceptional. Everything was smooth. We were taken under the wing, all stress was handled by the team and we all had the most wonderful day. Many of our guests have told us it was the best wedding they've ever been to and I'm not surprised. If you want a dream come true day in the most beautiful location then I cannot recommend Cote How enough xx

Karen and Andy June 2018
The best day of our lives bar none!
We had been together for 12 years and decided it was about time to get married. We decided to have a secret elopement wedding with only my mum present as witness. So sadly, she passed away quite suddenly two weeks before we were due to go and see Cote How on Valentine's Day. Obviously the day we got there was very strange, there was a blizzard blowing which wiped out any view. Caroline greeted us by a roaring fire and was so welcoming and friendly. I thought I would struggle to explain why we now needed Steve to act as witness but Caroline handled this so well, it was like talking to friends. We had fantastic support and advice from Caroline throughout which led to a totally stress free wedding. Luckily the weather had changed by the time it got to June and Caroline called the day before to suggest an outdoor venue in the Barn which we were really pleased about. We got there on the day, and whilst we knew roughly the views, were absolutely blown away by how stunning it was. Caroline and Steve left us to relax outside listening to some of our favourite music, at which time the buzzard decided to join us in an adjoining tree. The ceremony was perfect, particularly when as the Registrar asked if we could legally marry, the champagne cork spontaneously popped - my mum letting us know she was there with us. Afterwards I put my walking boots on and we wandered down to the lake for some amazing pictures. Then a quick walk over the bridge to catch the open topped bus back to Ambleside and a few well deserved glasses of fizz. We really couldn't have had a better day - thank you!!!!

Kath and Darren - May 2018
Perfect and intimate venue
From the moment we stepped inside Cote How, we totally fell in love with everything about it. Caroline and Steve made us feel so welcome. All the tiny special touches that we would never have thought of just added to the wonderful, intimate atmosphere leaving us and our guests with some perfect memories.

 

Angharad and Rob's Winter Wedding by Simon HughesAngharad and Rob's Intimate Winter Wedding
by Simon Hughes

 

 

Kat and Jaedon's October WeddingKat and Jaedon's October Wedding

 

 

Caroline and Claires Afternoon Tea WeddingCaroline and Claire's Afternoon Tea Wedding

 

 

Carole and Kevin's Intimate WeddingCarole and Kevin's Intimate Wedding

 

David and Janet's Small Family WeddingDavid and Janet's Small Family Wedding

 

Helen and Will's Summer Barn Wedding at Cote HowHelen and Will's Summer Barn Wedding
at Cote How

 

Karen and Andy's secret Elopement WeddingKaren and Andy's secret Elopement Wedding

 

Darren and Kaths Weekend Barn WeddingDarren and Kath's Weekend Barn Wedding

 

2016 and 2017 Wedding Reviews

Rebecca and James - Oct 2017
The most amazing, personal, relaxed wedding venue
We got married at cote how on 18th October 2017 and this venue exceeded all the expectations we had for it. We had decided that we wanted a small wedding with only a party of 10, our plan was to have a weeks holiday in the Lake District and get married whilst we were there. We needed a wedding venue that could accommodate a small party and ceremony only but also wanted more of an experience than just attending the registry office and that is when we found cote how. It is hard to describe what a beautiful place this is, On the edge of the lake, surrounded by the most beautiful countryside the lakes has to offer. Caroline, Steve and the team made everything so easy from day one and although we were only having the ceremony with drinks and canapés, I never was made to feel like my wedding was any less important than the all day functions that take place. The organisation was just made so easy I never had a moments worry over anything. When I arrived and was met by Caroline and Steve I just felt so at ease and relaxed that I didn’t have any nerves, the house is absolutely beautiful and oozes rustic charm. The ceremony room was also beautiful but relaxed and was perfect for all small party. Despite being October the sun was shining and so after the ceremony we all went outside for drinks and canapés and to enjoy the beautiful venue. We had two hours at cote how for our wedding but never felt rushed. It’s really hard to put into words just how special this place is. If you are looking for somewhere with the personal touch- where you don’t just feel like a number , in the most breathtaking of locations, full of charm and love then you should look at cote how- it really is a very special place.



Katharine and Shaun - Sep 2017
Our perfect day
Hi Caroline. Just wanted to say a huge thank you from myself and Shaun. You gave us an absolutely amazing day! And we are so grateful to you, Steve and everyone else who had a part in the day. Apart from letting us have the use of your beautiful home and venue, Your guidance and attention to every detail was unbelievable, I really don't think we would have had the same professional but so personal care anywhere else. I know there were a couple of stressful moments (unexpected people arriving at bad times/ a long hair and make up session..) But you got us through all that and got me organised. We couldn't have wished for a more perfect day. Thank you again from us both and all our families.  You really are amazing :) We fell in love with Cote How the first time we walked past and our wedding day there with you all, was everything we hoped for. With love and thanks Katharine, Shaun and the boys x Ps Keith (Shaun's dad said best full English ever!)


Graham and Lynne Scratcherd 18th July 2017
The best day of our life
Everything about our wedding day was exactly as we could have wished for. We had a small family wedding the only one thing wrong was the day didn’t last long enough I never wanted it to end! Caroline & her team were excellent nothing was too much trouble.



Kate and Nic June 2016
What can we say.....
the most perfect experience from the moment we arrived until we HAD to go home!! I knew when we visited in December 2015 that Cote How was the place we wanted to get married at. Caroline really is a 'wedding angel' (if there is such a thing). Her attention to detail is incredible and nothing is too much trouble. And all those behind the scenes too...Steve, Karen (OMG the food was incredible) and the girls.....thank you. We will never forget you all...thank you for making our special day even more special. Kate & Nic x


Annabel and Chris 18/06/17
A fantastic venue with very helpful staff and fantastic food. Thank you Caroline and the team, you made it very special for us.


Emma and Tom 3 Sep 2016
We couldn’t have asked for a more perfect, intimate setting than Cote How. The house is in a beautiful spot and looked lovely, even on our slightly damp wedding day. Caroline and her team went above and beyond to make it a special day for us, right from the initial viewing through to breakfast in bed the day after. A perfect Lake District wedding venue.


Steph and Sam 18.6.16
We had a fantastic time and a lovely summer weekend wedding. Thank you to all the staff. Very relaxed atmosphere. Amazing and beautiful photographs and cracking band to end the day. With thanks.


Ruth and Paul April 2016
What a beautiful venue and Caroline attended to all our needs and made our wedding just perfect! Very happy will have such lovely memories always thank you Caroline your a star X


 

 

Becky and JamesRebecca and James' Intimate October Wedding

 

Katharine and Sean Weekend Barn Wedding by Derwent PhotographyKatharine and Sean's Weekend Wedding
by Derwent Photography

 

Lynne and Grahams small wedding by Simon Hughes PhotographyLynne and Grahams small wedding
by Simon Hughes Photography

 

Kate and Nics Elopement Hideaway by Kerry Woods
Kate and Nics Elopement Hideaway
by Kerry Woods

 

Steph and Sams Weekend WeddingSteph and Sam's Weekend Barn Wedding

 

2014 and 2015 Wedding Reviews

Harriet and Tom 5th Sept 2015
If you are looking for a fairy tale venue look no further! We got married at Cote How on 5 September 2015 and it was absolutely amazing!! The venue is quaint, rustic, charming and has stunning views. We got married outside which was magical, feasted on hog roast which was soooo tasty, before partying the night away in the barn. The day ran so smoothly, Caroline and her team were so professional and relaxed. A number of guests commented that it was the best wedding they had ever been to which is testament to Caroline, her team and the beautiful venue. We would highly recommend Cote How if you're getting married in the Lakes. Thanks Caroline and team for helping us create such wonderful memories!! Mr and Mrs Robb.


Steph and Rich 2015
I can't recommend Cote How enough, such a beautiful place. Caroline you are amazing!! thank you for giving us the wedding we dreamed of xx


14.09.15 XX
Cote how is the most amazing venue to get married, it’s a stunning location! a fantastic team led by Caroline, i never felt the need to stress or worry about anything,from the first moment i got in touch to make an enquiry they took care of every detail in a friendly professional manner. i can’t thank them enough for giving us the perfect wedding we dreamed of.


Harriet and Steve 2015
Highly recommend this venue for smaller Lakeland weddings. Cote How is simply beautiful with a gorgeous barn, grounds and only a short walk to the lake. It is also a really cosy place to stay the night with a high standard of interior decor. The owner Caroline was an absolute rock on the day, being very supportive, calm, friendly and a great solver of mishaps- including turning my hedge size bouquet into something really pretty and fixing a bridesmaid shoe on a sewing machine! Nothing was too much trouble... she was definitely the added sparkle to the already magical venue. We look back at our wedding with very happy memories


Alex Birtwell 2015
I've attended this venue many times not only as a performer but also as a guest and this place is amazing. I simply love coming here. The scenes are beautiful, the venue it's self is stunning and full of character and every wedding I've attended here has been able to add its own personal stamp to this already perfect setting. Caroline and her team go above and beyond every time and every couple I speak to her who have got married her refer to them more as friends now than just providers. Karen's food as well is simply beautiful and homely. This is my favourite venue in the lakes and I've performed at many of them. You really should consider this for the perfect Lake District wedding.


Nigel and Julie 22 June 2015
Julie and I were married at Rydal Church in June 2015. We chose Cote How for our wedding breakfast and evening celebrations not just for it's proximity to the church but also because it is one of the most beautiful locations in the whole of the Lake District. We can't thank Caroline enough and were incredibly impressed with just how professional and yet personal she was. The process of planning our day was seamless and, seemingly, effortless. Yet we knew how much hard work and care went into making sure we had the day we wanted and dreamed of.


Patricia and Annette May 2015
This very beautiful, quiet and relaxing location proved ideal for our small, intimate wedding celebration. Caroline is a superb wedding planner, who instinctively knew how to create the atmosphere we were seeking. Her eye for detail ensured that every aspect of the arrangements, from the excellent cuisine to the beautiful colour-themed May-flowering posies reflected perfectly the relaxed and informal setting we wished to create. It was a pleasure working with Caroline and her team. The sharing of ideas and suggestions made the creative process flow and was immensely enjoyable. The overall experience exceeded our expectations and has left us with a host of happy memories. Huge thanks to all at Cote How.


Jane 2014
Our wedding day was perfect. Small intimate and wonderfully executed. The planning had been smooth and details discussed. We had an absolutely blissful day.


 

Harriet and Tom by Derwent Photography
Harriet and Tom's Weekend Barn Wedding
by Derwent Photography

 

Steph and Richards Elopement Hideaway by Lorraine Oates PhotographySteph and Richards Elopement Hideaway
by Lorraine Oates Photography

 

Alex Birtwell Wedding EntertainerAlex Birtwell - Wedding Entertainer

 

Pat and Annettes Elopement WeddingPat and Annette's Elopement Wedding

Heart Left75px
Cote How Wedding Enquiry Form

Heart Left75px

 

Just Us Weddings

 

Intimate Weddings

 

Small Weddings2

 

Rustic Barn Weddings

Winter Weddings

Client Reviews

Real Wedding Photographs

Wedding Blog

Bridebook winner barn

Bridebook logo

Gay heart

Hitched

Cumbria Tourism

Cumbria Chamber